F. A. Q.

Almost without fail, I’m asked some questions, over and over. I thought I would put some of the most asked in print.

1) How did I get into this business, and for how long?

Answer: Back in 1997, a friend of mine that worked at a Pest Control Co. asked if I would be interested in being a trapper for his area (eastern CT). I jumped in with both feet. Depleted our meager savings to purchase equipment, then waited for the calls to come. It took about four months to get the first two calls. It slowly grew from there to where I am today, sixteen years later.

2) How do you handle skunks without them spraying?

Answer: VERY CAREFULLY!  Some are more jumpy than others. I’d prefer to handle large, fall skunks. They seem to be more docile than any other time of the year. The winter breeders are unpredictable, with some being real agitated. The spring kits are cute as can be and really have no essence to spray. The worst are the summer time “teenagers”. They would rather spray anything that moves.

3) What is the worst or hardest animal I’ve had to deal with?

Answer: I don’t find any of them particularly off the wall hard. Obviously, the skunk will make me stink sometimes. Any day that I don’t get bit or sprayed is usually a good day. There are times when ladder work can be difficult though. High, steep roofs, power lines and hot summer temps will drain the life out of me.

4) What is the most unusual animal I’ve caught?

Answer: A weasel in a ceiling. I was 100% sure that the target animal was a red squirrel, but to my surprise, a weasel was caught about a week into the service. Problem solved.

5) What do you do with the animals you catch?

Answer: I follow state law and guidelines. Some animals such as raccoons and skunks, must be humanely euthanized once removed from the site. This is to prevent the spread of rabies, distemper and other potential diseases common to those two animals. Squirrels, opossums and woodchucks may be released in suitable habitat, or euthanized humanely. I try to release healthy animals whenever possible, but it depends on the type of traps I use, or if the animal is too young to survive on it’s own. I also don’t want to over saturate a release area, since there are already animals there to compete with.

http://www.animalevictions.com

Leave a Reply

